12 Days of Cumberbatch

I must admit that I am late to the global Cumberbatch party. I first noticed Benedict Cumberbatch when he photo bombed, now described as “Cumber bombed” U2 at the 2014 Oscars. Who is that curious Brit with a ridiculous name? He was invited to the prestigious Hollywood awards ceremony because of his supporting roles in the Best Picture Winner, 12 Years a Slave, and nominated film, August: Osage County for noteworthy performances by Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts.

I finally had a chance to binge-watch his breakthrough role as BBC’s modern day version of Sherlock Holmes, which he won an 2014 Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries. NOW I UNDERSTAND THE BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH PHENOMENON and why he has an obsessed legion of female fans.

It’s a guilty pleasure witnessing such brilliant banter between sparring partners, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson (masterfully played by Martin Freeman). Don’t we all wish to be as clever as Sherlock Holmes, then speak our minds like him and get away with it?

Sherlock: “Oh, John, I envy you so much.”
Watson: “You envy me?”
Sherlock: “Your mind… it’s so placid, straight-forward, barely used.”

Season 3, Episode 1: The explanation of Sherlock’s death (SPOILER) was the best 3 minutes you could ever watch – outstanding.

I did not realize I had seen Benedict Cumberbatch in films before such as Atonement which was Oscar-nominated for Best Picture in 2008. I had a chance to watch his starring and formidable role as Alan Turing in The Imitation Game, which the Weinstein Co. is heavily campaigning for Oscar glory. CBS Sunday Morning News featured a story about the real Alan Turing.

He’s got quite a range of artistic work in films, television, theater, and radio. According to Cumberbatch, “When it comes to other roles, there are very easy, lazy crossovers in the Venn diagram of characters that I’ve played. But there are nice guys; there are stupid comic foils and bad lovers; there are heroes and heroic lovers; there are men who are incredibly passionate and incredibly bright but not known for their intellect, like Van Gogh; there are smart villains; there are stupid villains. Oddballs. I just play things that interest me. I try to keep myself interested and keep other people interested, so I don’t think you can cut them all the same.”

As the holidays draw near, I wrote a festive parody of his work in a Christmas carol…

12 Days of Cumberbatch

On the first day of Cumberbatch 
my true love sent to me:
A Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the second day of Cumberbatch 
my true love sent to me:
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the third day of Cumberbatch
 my true love sent to me:
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the fourth day of Cumberbatch
 my true love sent to me:
Four Pengwings  (Note: he can’t seem to pronounce it properly)
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the fifth day of Cumberbatch 
my true love sent to me:
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the sixth day of Cumberbatch 
my true love sent to me:
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the seventh day of Cumberbatch my true love sent to me:
Seven Star Trek Khans
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the eighth day of Cumberbatch
 my true love sent to me:
Eight Third Stars
Seven Star Trek Khans
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the ninth day of Cumberbatch
 my true love sent to me:
Nine Hawkings
Eight Third Stars
Seven Star Trek Khans
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the tenth day of Cumberbatch
 my true love sent to me:
Ten Starters
  (Starter for 10)
Nine Hawkings
Eight Third Stars
Seven Star Trek Khans
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the eleventh day of Cumberbatch 
my true love sent to me:
Eleven Van Goghs
Ten Starters
Nine Hawkings
Eight Third Stars
Seven Star Trek Khans
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

On the twelfth day of Cumberbatch
 my true love sent to me:
12 Imitation Games
Eleven Van Goghs
Ten Starters
Nine Hawkings
Eight Third Stars
Seven Star Trek Khans
Six Little Favours
Five Cumberbombs
Four Pengwings
Three Fifth Estates
Two Tinker Tailors
and a Sherlock Holmes DVD

SHERLOCK

#benedictcumberbatch

Leave a Reply

